Home » latest » Brady cousins set for ‘West’ showdown as stars crash at Rosses Point
brady cousins set for west showdown as stars crash at rosses point

Brady cousins set for ‘West’ showdown as stars crash at Rosses Point

One of the two County Sligo men is guaranteed a spot in the quarter-finals, which means a nervous morning for their fathers, brothers Hugh and Terry, in the Connolly Motor Group-sponsored season opener. Aodhagan (18) beat Royal Portrush’s Adam Buchanan on the 19th in the first round before seeing off leading qualifier Mark Doogue from Castleknock 2 and 1 in the afternoon on a day when a cold, easterly wind caused early problems. “It should be good craic,” said Aodhagan, a Connacht men’s interprovincial and boys’ international. “We’ve never played each other in a championship, but it will be a good match.” ​First cousin David (27) was fortunate to make the match-play after being handed a two-stroke penalty for arriving late on the first tee for his second qualifying round, where dad Terry was the embarrassed starter. Despite the penalty and an opening triple-bogey seven, he shot 79 to qualify with two shots to spare and took full advantage, beating Royal Dublin’s Irish international (and 2021 champion) Hugh Foley 3 and 2 before edging out Bangor’s Shay Dorman with a birdie from 15 feet at the 19th. “It should be fun,” said David, who once held the Rosses Point course record with a 64 but now plays out of Straffan as he works with Bank of America in Dublin. “How often does something like this happen? “After being told yesterday I had a two-shot penalty standing on the first tee, I’ll definitely take it. I’m over the moon. Delighted.” David played superbly to beat Foley on the 16th, and after hitting a stellar shot to the 19th against Dorman, he’s hoping to go at least one better than in 2017, when he lost to eventual champion Barry Anderson in the quarter-finals. Elsewhere, Order of Merit winner David Shiel exited in round one to Powerscourt’s Adam Allahbachani, who later fell 6 and 5 to Ross Latimer. Peter O’Keeffe fell 3 and 2 in round one to 2006 runner-up Paul O’Hanlon, who now faces Carton House team-mate Keith Egan as Walker Cup player Matt McClean, North of Ireland champion James Fox and South champion Colm Campbell, a 2 and 1 winner over Co Sligo’s TJ Ford, all advanced. Campbell now faces Coventry’s Darryl Gwilliam (42), a reinstated ex-mini tour pro now based in Kildare. Meanwhile, Japan’s Keita Nakajima (23) claimed his maiden DP World Tour win with a four-stroke victory in the Hero Indian Open at DLF Golf & Country Club. He led by nine shots with 10 holes to play before coming home in a nervy 40 to win from India’s Veer Ahlawat, Sweden’s Sebastian Söderberg and American Johannes Veerman. West of Ireland Amateur Open Championship, sponsored by Connolly Motor Group, Co Sligo GC First round M Doogue (Castleknock) bt O Murphy (Royal Portrush) 5/4 A Brady (Co Sligo) bt A Buchanan (Royal Portrush) 19th D Brady (Straffan) bt H Foley (Royal Dublin) 3/2 S Dorman (Bangor) bt F Dortmans (Sunningdale, Eng) 20th M McClean (Malone) bt C Ó Muirithe (Belmullet) 2/1 D Mallon (Dungannon) bt H Gillivan (Portmarnock) 3/1 G Collins (Rosslare) bt E Magill (East Clare) 6/5 J Whelan (Grange) bt J McDonnell (Royal Dublin) 19th P Coughlan (Castleknock) bt S McDermott (Slieve Russell) 2/1 L Gowdy (Bangor) bt D O’Riordan (Fermoy) 5/3 J O’Neill (Berehaven) bt R Nelson (Belvoir Park) 5/3 T Abom (Edmondstown) bt J Keane (Lahinch) 20th R Galligan (Elm Park) bt S Kavanagh (St Anne’s) 7/6 S Cullen (Slieve Russell) bt A Benson (West Lothian, Sco) 5/4 J Fox (Portmarnock) bt D Keenaghan (Mullingar) 5/4 L O’Meara (Tullamore) bt L Lynch (Naas) 3/2 K Egan (Carton House) bt P Curran (Edmondstown) 5/3 R Carvill (Warrenpoint) bt D Flynn (Carton House) 21st P O’Hanlon (Carton House) v P O’Keeffe (Douglas) 3/2 L Mitchell (Portmarnock) bt A Smith (Mullingar) 3/2 D Howard (Fota Island) bt J Lyons (Galway) 20th M Cadden (Roganstown) bt R Abernethy (Dun Laoghaire) 3/1 J Foley (Elm Park) bt R Gallagher (Galway Bay) 1 up E Farrell (Co Louth) bt V Hundeboll (Silkeborg, Den) 2/1 A Allahbachani (Powerscourt) bt D Shiel (Enniscrone) 4/2 R Latimer (Clandeboye) bt C Stapleton (Connemara) 3/2 E McCormack (Galway Bay) bt D O’Keeffe (Hermitage) 5/4 J Stenson (The Island) bt R O’Connor (Co Sligo) 3/2 D Gwilliam (Coventry, Eng) bt J Temple (Portmarnock) 1up A Kiernan (Forrest Little) bt J Walsh (Douglas) 1 up C Campbell (Warrenpoint) bt L Flynn (Dun Laoghaire) 4/2 TJ Ford (Co Sligo) bt T McLarnon (Massereene) 2/1. Second round A Brady bt M Doogue 2/1 D Brady bt S Dorman 19th M McClean bt D Mallon 2/1 J Whelan bt G Collins 3/2 P Coughlan bt L Gowdy 5/4 J O’Neill bt T Abom 2/1 R Galligan bt S Cullen 4/3 J Fox bt L O’Meara 2/1 K Egan bt R Carvill 2/1 P O’Hanlon bt L Mitchell 6/5 D Howard bt M Cadden 3/1 E Farrell bt J Foley 2/1 R Latimer bt A Allahbachani 6/5 E McCormack bt J Stenson 3/2 D Gwilliam bt A Kiernan 1 up C Campbell bt TJ Ford 2/1. Today Round three 8.0: A Brady v D Brady; 8.10: M McClean v J Whelan; 8.20: P Coughlan v J O’Neill; 8.30: R Galligan v J Fox; 8.40 K Egan v P O’Hanlon; 8.50: D Howard v E Farrell; 9.0: R Latimer v E McCormack; 9.10: D Gwilliam v C Campbell.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Verified by MonsterInsights